Hong Kong – International & domestic calendar

International cricket fixtures involving representative teams from Hong Kong date back to 1866 when the first Interport match against Shanghai was played. Records from 1890 show Hong Kong playing matches against ‘The Straights’ and Ceylon. For a full chronology of important dates and events in Hong Kong cricket, visit our detailed History page.

Hong Kong became an Associate Member of the International Cricket Council in 1969.

Hong Kong has a performed extremely well in recent years on the international cricket scene. As well as competing in the ICC Trophy since 1982 against other ICC Associate Members for the right to participate in the Cricket World Cup, Hong Kong also plays in the Asia Cup and the South East Asia Championships (a.k.a. Tuanku Ja’afar Cup) on a regular basis.

With its eighth place finish at the 1997 ICC Trophy tournament, Hong Kong attained a ranking of 17th in the world.

At age group levels, Hong Kong participates in the Under 13, Under 15 and Under 19 Tuanku Ja’afar Cups and in the Youth Asia Cup – an Under 19 event with the finalists qualifying for the Youth World Cup.
ACC Trophy, Singapore 9-22 July 2002
2002 Cathay Pacific/Standard Chartered Hong Kong International Cricket Sixes, 2-3 November 2002
Under 15 Tuanku Ja’afar Cup 2002
Tunaku Ja’afar Cup 2002, Hong Kong – 28 November – 1 December 2002
Under 15 ACC Trophy 2002, UAE 7-22 December 2002
Cricket in Hong Kong is played during the cooler months of the year, from September to April. Although there are numerous clubs playing cricket, not all clubs possess their own grounds and/or facilities. There are two grass wickets available in the territory, at the Hong Kong Cricket Club and the Kowloon Cricket Club. All other matches are played on artificial surfaces.

There are two main competitions – a round-robin League followed by a knock-out Cup competition. Junior cricket is played at Under 13, Under 15 and Under 19 age levels and there are also various inter-school competitions played at primary school and secondary school levels.

The Saturday League competition comprises 16 teams that play each other once per season in 35 overs per side matches. Bowlers are restricted to ten overs and there are no fielding restrictions. The Saturday Cup follows the same rules as the Saturday League, with winning teams advancing to the next phase of the competition. Social teams are usually invited to participate in the Saturday Cup alongside the league teams. Teams losing their first round matches compete for the Plate.

The Sunday League competition is more serious, with nine teams play one another on a home and away basis in 50 overs per side matches. Bowlers are restricted to 15 overs each and a 30 metre circle demarcates fielding restrictions which apply in the first 15 overs of each innings. The Sunday Cup follows the same rules as the Sunday League, with winning teams advancing to the next phase of the competition.

During the off-season, the Summer Eights are also played